2021 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament Bracket Announced

The Big Ten Conference has announced the full bracket for the 28th Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament that will take place March 9-13 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

Maryland (21-2, 17-1 Big Ten) is the No. 1 seed for this year’s tournament after securing the outright Big Ten Championship, its third in a row and sixth in seven years with Saturday’s 88-61 win at home over Penn State. Along with their six conference titles, the Terrapins have won four Big Ten Tournament championships (2015, 2016, 2017, 2020) since joining the conference prior to the 2014-15 season.

Maryland will open tournament play at 11 a.m. (ET) Thursday with a quarterfinal contest against the winner of the second-round game between No. 8 seed Nebraska and No. 9 seed Minnesota.

Indiana (18-4, 16-2) is the No. 2 seed for this year’s Big Ten Tournament after the Hoosiers finished second in the conference standings, their highest placement since sharing the Big Ten title in 1982-83 and set a school record for conference wins in a season. Indiana, which advanced to the Big Ten Tournament semifinals last year for the first time since 2006, will tip off its postseason schedule at 6:30 p.m. (ET) Thursday with a tournament quarterfinal game against the winner of the second-round matchup between No. 7 seed Michigan State and 10th-seeded Penn State.

Rutgers (14-3, 10-3) earned the No. 3 seed for the Big Ten Tournament, ending the regular season on a nine-game winning streak to match the program’s highest finish (third) since joining the Big Ten in 2014-15. The Scarlet Knights will play in the last Big Ten Tournament quarterfinal against either No. 6 seed Iowa or No. 11 seed Purdue on Thursday night, 25 minutes following the completion of Indiana’s quarterfinal.

Read More…